07
Aug
08

Help a poor blogger out

This is a pretty obscure, young blog.  In fact, up until a few weeks ago, most of my friends didn’t even know about this site.  Therefore, it was not unusual for me to see that my site was getting 4 or 5 hits a day, all from the friends to whom I had mentioned this site.  On one or two lucky days I even got 10 or so readers!  Needless to say, I was surprised when I logged on yesterday and saw my site had over 90 hits.  Then again, today, I already have over 40 hits.  This is quite the surprise and mystery.

In puzzling over the dramatic and sudden rise, I have developed three theories:

  1. WordPress has developed a technical problem where it counts with the same skill I possessed in nursery school.
  2. Bots have discovered my site and are searching for a weakness.
  3. Someone has linked to my site and is driving readers my way.

If it’s a WordPress problem, I’ll be pretty disappointed when they find it and correct it.  If someone has linked to my site (even though Google claims there are no incoming links), I’d love to know where these readers are coming from, so readers should leave me a comment. 

And if the “readers” are just bots, I have a message for the bots: When you become sentient, remember that I entertained you on this site, so please don’t eat me.  Also, I taste terrible.

4 Responses to “Help a poor blogger out”


  1. 1 Kookie fan
    August 7, 2008 at 7:21 pm

    I’ve long been fascinated by fortune cookies. You must eat a lot of chinese food. Love the site.

  2. 2 dbudish
    August 8, 2008 at 2:45 pm

    You are telling me that your fortunes didn’t predict many more people would come visit this site in the near future? Guess I’ll have to examine my belief system more carefully…

  3. 3 fortuneater
    August 8, 2008 at 11:47 pm

    Thanks Kookie Fan! I guess I do like Chinese food… in fact, I ate some tonight and got a few more fortunes!

  4. 4 audienceoftwo
    August 15, 2008 at 4:10 pm

    we’re in ur blog, readn ur postz.


Leave a Reply

How the cookie crumbles

The concept for this blog is pretty simple: I get fortunes, and I then come up with what the next line of the fortune might be. Did you ever play that game where you add "in bed" to the end of the fortune? Think of this like that game, but requiring more effort to achieve something that will never be as funny as "in bed." Despite what the number of fortunes might suggest, I am not 500 lbs. Nor do I reek of moo shu pork. Thus, I don't eat out enough to keep this going for too long. If you have your own fortunes you want to share, send me a picture (along with your own next line) and maybe I'll post it. Hit me up at SoldierFortuna {A.T.} gmail.
August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Some legal crap (since I am a lawyer)


